Chicken soup for the soul...

Today I invited our friend for a light lunch. He has recently been diagnosed by cancer and he is not very well. As he lives alone we take him often for lunch either to a restaurant or to us. He asked me if I could make pancakes to lunch today. I decided to serve a chicken soup as a starter, you know "chicken soup for the soul", and also for its nutrition value. I cooked half of the chicken together with carrots, parsnips, parsley, fenouil, ginger, onion and a piece of red pepper, chicken stock cube/powder, salt and pepper for 1hour on low heat. Then I cooled the soup over night. In the morning I collected all the fat from the surface and discarded it.  I strained the soup in order to separate the liquid from the vegetables, bones and meat. Discard the bones but keep the meat, cut in small pieces to serve together with the soup. Put all vegetables into a mixer and mixed it together with the strained liquid. Add 2 spoons of light creme fraiche and season with pepper and salt.
I had still some of the parsnips left so I decided to do parsnips chips of it which I would then crush and sprinkle over the soup as a taste and decoration add-on.
Peel the parsnips, slice them in strips and toss with oil. I have roasted them on a tray covered with baking paper for 2 hours at 100°C before golden crisp.



Kommentarer
Postat av: Macky

Dina bilder är så vackra och inspirerande! Jag älskar soppor och kommer definitivt att prova denna variant på kycklingsoppa. Det värmer i magen bara jag tänker på det! :)

2010-12-05 @ 00:28:54

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0