Christmas FOOD Highlights

Our Christmas food is a marriage of flavors. We enjoy the traditional Swedish smorgasbord as well as the seasonal access to tropical fruits and also some other favorites like the Italian cake, Panettone. However, the most important is that my small family gather around the table and that we share together the food, the memories and the plans for the future.
Passion fruit and Papaya are my favorite fruits and they are often available in the shops around Christmas. I serve Papaya often for breakfast. It is delicious when ripe and orange-coloured. Papaya is a wonderful digestive aid because of a powerful enzyme called papain. As its colour suggests, papaya is full of beta carotene, as well as vitamin C.
According to the Swedish tradition the meal on Christmas Eve is followed by singing. Therefore my husband prepared a sheet of paper with lyrics to each of us and I included it in the table decoration.
The gravlax I described in my earlier blog was the absolute favorite on the table. We served it together with the mustard sauce bought at IKEA. 
Herring in different marinades and small glass of snaps are also given components on our Christmas table.
I learned to appreciate Panettone when I lived in Switzerland. There I could buy it from small Deli shops with focus on quality rather than quantity. I could not believe that it was the same cake I used to buy in Sweden, baked by huge industries in Italy and exported to the entire world. Therefore I was happy when i discovered in Paris a small luxury chocolate shop, which also sold high quality Panettone.....this time with chunks of chocolate inside.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0