In the mood for books...


Books have always been, are and will be an integrated part of my life. There is many things I am dependent on but books are simply a necessity for me. Although I read almost everything coming to my hands, my taste varies with the mood I am in. Sometimes I can read crimes i weeks and months but then I move to history books or to classics which are somehow the very favorites....like Thomas Mann, Herman Hesse, Leo Tolstoy etc. I also vary the languages I read in order to keep staying proficient. Czech, Swedish or English ....French has to wait for a while. For the moment I am completely absorbed by Marcus Aurelius Mediations written around 100AD. The style of the book is direct and unpretentious and delivers many insightful and inspirational observations about human nature and the human condition, and makes an excellent rational argument for seeking the good and for acting modestly and continently. When now looking outside I see a strong wind sweeping across the garden and this makes the decision about what to do even easier.....staying inside and reading.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0