Duck legs with Ras Al-Hanout

Ras Al-Hanout is a complex blend of Moroccan spices mainly used for lamb or tagines but I love to rub it on chicken or duck before grilling or roasting. The smell is really a wonderful experience and transfers you to the One Thousand and One Nigh ts directly. The second important ingredient is the duck, mostly known for the duck breast but this time I bought the duck legs which are really cheap in France (8 legs below 10 euro :). There is also a third important ingredient and this is oranges, which I often use in my winter cooking. It brings the sun into the kitchen and add a wonderful taste to the meat. I just seasoned the legs with salt and the Ras Al-Hanout, added the quartered oranges, some garlic, rosemary and thyme and pour over a little of white wine. I roasted it in oven for 1 hour at temperature of 130°C. During this time we went to the little post office in our village so I even didn't look at it. After 1 hour I added pieces of carrots and parsnips and raised the temperature to 200°C and roasted it for another hour.
Again with only little attention we enjoyed a well cooked and nourishing food. You can do it with chicken and without Ras Al-Hanout, but add olive oil as the chicken meat doesn't have much of own fat. To every meal and every day I serve a small portion of green salad as this is part of my lifestyle to nourish me and my family with healthy food.



Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0