Warming up with a comfort dish: Fish soup

Today I cooked a fish soup for our dinner. It is very cold i Provence and in the morning when we arrived in Apt for our weekly shopping at the market, the temperature dropped to -7°C. I really admired the local fishmonger dealing with the cold fish in his outdoor stand. During the day the temperature rose to +5°C, clear sky and sun. We decided to go for a walk and enjoy the exercise in the fresh air.
For the soup I used a ready made fish stock which I bought by the fish monger. Normally I cook it from scratch based on the fish head and fish bones and vegetables but today I had not time.
  • Chop vegetables like carrots, fennel, courgette and tomatoes and wok it until tender
  • Cook potatoes ( or lentils which I prefer more)
  • Cook the fish stock with a little white vine and in the end mix in little of creme fraiche
  • Pan fry fish (scallops, shrimps and fish file as salmon or any other)
Place the vegetables and potatoes in the middle of a deep plate and pour over the soup. Put the fish, scallops and shrimps on top. Decorate with dill and serve with a loaf of good country bread.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0